Skip to content

Homemade Bread Machine Pizza Dough

September 27, 2012

Homemade Hamburger Pizza with Mozzarella and Parmesan Cheese

While I’m not so sure I can say my homemade pizza is healthy; I will say you can save money by making your own dough.  I figured out rather quickly that I was better off buying Little Caesars pizza for $5.99 than I was buying Chef Boyardee pizza kits-price wise. 🙂

Tonight we tried a new dough recipe, and it was by far the best we have tried yet.  I love saving time by using my bread machine for making dough.  I just threw in the ingredients and set my bread machine on dough cycle. Then I went outdoors to weed my asparagus and strawberry bed. There are plenty of dough recipes online that are not for the bread machine also.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

  • 1  1/4 cups water
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 4 cups bread flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon fresh parsley
  • 1 teaspoon fast-rising active dry yeast
  1. Place ingredients in bread machine according to manufactures directions.
  2. Set machine on basic dough cycle.
  3. When dough cycle has finished remove from machine and place on a floured surface.
  4. Divide in two.
  5. Roll out to 12″ rounds.
  6. Bake at 425º for 15-20 minutes.

A cookie sheet works fine if you don’t have round pizza pans, or if you only have one round pizza pan like me. 🙂

For the sauce I used a $1 jar of pasta sauce. We can’t tell a difference between it and pizza sauce.  The best part is one jar contains enough sauce for four pizzas.

Anymore ideas of how to save money on homemade pizza?

:)Vicki

 

 

From → Frugal Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

